>\n\nCollege Football Awards-My picks \n\n\n\n

College Football Awards-My picks

Written by Curt Popejoy on 11/29/2009


Maxwell Award – Most outstanding player

Mark Ingram – RB – Alabama
Colt McCoy – QB – Texas
Tim Tebow – QB – Florida

My pick-Tim Tebow of course. He’s won it two years in a row. Gotta make it 3.

Bednarik Award – Best defensive player

Terrence Cody – DT – Alabama
Brandon Spikes – LB – Florida
Ndamukong Suh – DT – Nebraska

My pick-Ndamukong Suh. Even though this award is typically linebackers only Suh is too good to leave out.

Bronko Nagurski Award – Best defensive player

Pat Angerer – LB – Iowa
Eric Berry – S – Tennessee
Terrence Cody – DT – Alabama
Jerry Hughes – DE – TCU
Ndamukong Suh-DT-Nebraska

My pick-Jerry Hughes. I make this call mainly because this award seems to go to the odd defensive guy out every year.

Davey O’Brien Award – Best quarterback

Case Keenum – QB – Houston
Colt McCoy – QB – Texas
Tim Tebow – QB – Florida

My pick-Colt McCoy. He’ll pick up the double dip with this and the Heisman

Doak Walker Award – Best running back

Toby Gerhart – RB – Stanford
Mark Ingram – RB – Alabama
CJ Spiller – RB – Clemson

My pick-Toby Gerhart. Gerhart has won the hearts of the country, and should clean up at award time.

Biletnikoff Award – Best wide receiver

Freddie Barnes – WR – Bowling Green
Jordan Shipley – WR – Texas
Golden Tate – WR – Notre Dame

My pick-Jordan Shipley. I think Tate is a much better player, but Shipley has had some amazing games.

Rotary Lombardi Award – Best down lineman

Terrence Cody – DT – Alabama
Jerry Hughes – DE – TCU
Gerald McCoy – DT – Oklahoma
Ndamukong Suh – DT – Nebraska

My pick-Gerald McCoy. Just have a feeling with so many great defensive players they will spread the love around a little.

Butkus Award – Best linebacker

Sergio Kindle – LB – Texas
Rolando McClain – LB – Alabama
Eric Norwood – LB – South Carolina
Brandon Spikes – LB – Florida
Sean Weatherspoon – LB – Missouri

My pick-Rolando McClain. McClain is far and away the best linebacker in the nation and since he wasn’t nominated or any other awards he wins this in a landslide.

Mackey Award – Best tight end

Dorin Dickerson – TE – Pittsburgh
Aaron Hernandez – TE – Florida
Dennis Pita – TE – BYU

My pick-Aaron Hernandez. He’s benefited greatly from the Florida scheme but he’s sneaky good.

Outland Trophy – Best interior lineman

Mike Iupati – G – Idaho
Russell Okung – OT – Oklahoma State
Ndamukong Suh – DT – Nebraska

My pick-Russell Okung. Okung is the best offensive lineman in the coutry and this is his only shot at an award.

Jim Thorpe Award – Best defensive back

Eric Berry – S – Tennessee
Joe Haden – CB – Florida
Earl Thomas – S – Texas

My pick-Eric Berry. Probably could be Haden, but Berry’s body of work is impressive.

Lou Groza Award – Best place kicker

Kai Forbath – K – UCLA
Leigh Tiffin – K – Alabama
Blair Walsh – K – Georgia

My pick-Leigh Tiffin. Walsh is probably a better player, but Tiffin has helped Alabama win more games.

Ray Guy Award – Best punter

Drew Butler – P – Georgia
Chas Henry – P – Florida
Zoltan Mesko – P – Michigan

My pick-Zoltan Mesko. Because you don’t mess with the Zoltan.

William V. Campbell Award – Top scholar-athlete

John Asamoah – G – Illinois
Matt Bauman – LB – BYU
Eric Decker – WR – Minnesota
Moses Harris – S – Fresno State
Tim Hiller – QB – Western Michigan
Paul Jasinowski – DT – Brown
Beau Kildow – WR – Morningside
Josh Mahoney – LB – Northern Iowa
Colt McCoy – QB – Texas
Jarrell NeSmith – TE – Tusculum
Joe Pawelek – LB – Baylor
Todd Reesing
– QB – Kansas
ZaVious Robbins – WR – Hardin Simmons
Tim Tebow – QB – Florida
Blaine Westemeyer – OT – Augustana
Reed Williams – LB – West Virginia

My pick-Tim Tebow. Tebow’s grand tour of being the greatest guy in the history of guys ever of all time ends here with yet another trophy.

Last Edited: 11/29/2009

Get Firefox!

© 2004-2009 DBI Media, LLC (Photos by AP) | Terms of Use and Disclaimer | Privacy Policy